Web Content Accessibility Guidelines - WCAG 2.1 Reference Guide

This guide examines the updates for the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines, or WCAG, from 2.0 to 2.1.

The four principles of WCAG 2.1 are perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. Under each of these four principles there are twelve guidelines.

Under the twelve guidelines there is a series of testable success criteria. This guide identifies all of the testable success criteria. Each success criteria contains a link to understand more information about the criteria and how to test each one.

Principal 1: Perceivable

Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive.

Principal 2: Operable

User interface components and navigation must be operable

Principal 3: Understandable

Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable

Principal 4: Robust

Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies

4.1 Compatible

Level A

4.1.1 Parsing
4.1.2 Name, Role, Value

Level AA

4.1.3 Status Messages (New in WCAG 2.1)